Home Page

Governing body


All governors serve on the Management Committee and Full Governing Body meetings and all governors have voting rights.


Our Chair of Governors is: Mary Hartshorne

Our Vice Chair is:  Laura Clarke


Mrs Mary Hartshorne (Co-opted) - 02/07/2019 - 01/07/2023

Laura Clark (Co-opted) (Vice Chair) 30/03/2021 – 29/03/2025

Mr Crichton Brauer (Co-opted) - 24/11/2020 - 23/11/2024

Rev Mandy Cartwright (LA) 23/11/2021 - 22/11/2025

Mr B Carver (Headteacher) - 01/01/2022

Mr T Straw (Staff Governor) 28/01/2022 - 27/01/2026

Mr Mark Tyler (Co-opted) 30/03/2021 - 29/03/2025

Mrs Sue Laplanche (Co-opted) - 01/01/2023 - 31/12/2026

Mr Paul Nolan (Co-opted) - 16/11/2022 - 15/11/2026

Mrs Adrienne Allcock (Co-opted) - 16/11/2022 - 15/11/2026

Mr Peter Smith (Parent Governor) - 19/12/2022 - 18/12/2026

Miss C Fawcett (Parent Governor) 28/01/22 - 27/01/26

Marion Collins (Associate Governor) - 12/05/2020 - 11/05/2024



Co-opted Governors are voted in by the governing board; parent governors are elected through a parental election; staff governors via a staff vote and LA governors are appointed by the Local Authority.

John Blow Primary School Governing Body

NamePen portrait
Mr C Brauer

I am M.D. of a commercial education business and part owner of a micro brewery. I

enjoy running 5k to marathon – proudest moment completing the London Marathon in 2018.

For fun, I go mud obstacle racing. For endurance I go to Nottingham Forest with my sons!

Rev M Cartwright

I came to Collingham at the end of 2016 with my husband, to be the vicar of Collingham and a number of other villages.

I enjoy living and working here and I enjoy being involved with the school.

For fun I like being with my friends and family, travel, films, theatre and books.

Mrs L Clark - (Vice Chair)




I am currently working for Children’s Services at LCC having previously spent 6 years working at a Lincoln Primary School and two years with their Board of Governors. I have two children, one in Primary School and the other in Secondary School.

Miss C Fawcett 

I am a qualified chartered management accountant with 20 years business experience. I have 2 children, both at John Blow. in my spare time I enjoy running, bootcamp classes and watching Lincoln City.

Mrs M Hartshorne (Chair of Governors)

A qualified speech and language therapist, I’m now an adviser for an autism charity and I also support vulnerable witnesses at police interview.

I love cycling, reading and everything about food: growing it, cooking, eating it.

Mr P Nolan 

A retired primary school headteacher, I continue to work with a couple of schools. I live in Collingham and look forward to supporting the school and sharing my enthusiasm for learning with the children.

I like playing tennis and watching cricket in the village.

Mr P Smith

I am a member of the Royal Air Force with a background in training and instruction. I have two children, one at John Blow and one due to start soon. I love the Outdoors and enjoy cycling, climbing and running as well as attempting to play guitar. 

Mr M Tyler

I have lived in Collingham since 2015, and I have two grown up children. I work part-time as the in-house lawyer for a family mediation company. I was previously a foundation governor for an inner-city school in London. My interests include canal boating and keeping chickens.





Governor attendance at meetings